Hampton University Athletics

Rose_Action
Bookmark and Share
HAMPTON, VA. – Pirates Head Coach Donovan Rose welcomed the new and returning players to campus over the weekend as they gear up for the 2011 football campaign. The Pirates will hold their first practice today at 3:30 p.m. contingent on the weather. Players went through orientation, team seminars and physicals over the weekend.
 
The Pirates finished last season with a 6-5 overall record and a 5-3 mark in the MEAC for a fourth place finish. Hampton was picked to finish fourth in the conference behind SC State, Bethune-Cookman and Florida A&M. Cardio testing will begin on Tuesday for the different segments.
 
Hampton will hold its annual “Meet the Pirates Day” in conjunction with Sixth Mount Zion Baptist Temple on Saturday, Aug. 13 at 11 a.m. at North Hampton Community Center. Head Coach Donovan Rose will speak to the kids as well as assist with handing out school supplies. The day will continue at Armstrong Stadium on the campus of Hampton University where the players will be on hand to do one-on-one drills with the kids from the community and take team pictures and head shots. The Pirates will then conduct their sixth practice at 7 p.m.
 
Two-a-day practices, on an alternating basis, are set to start Monday, Aug. 15. The morning practice is scheduled for 5:45 a.m. and the evening drill at 3:15 p.m. The first preseason scrimmage is set for Saturday, Aug. 20 at 1:30 p.m.
 
The Pirates will open the 2011 season on Saturday, Sept. 3, when they take on Alabama A&M in the Chicago Football Classic at Soldier Field. The Pirates will open up their home schedule Thursday, Sept. 8 against Florida A&M on ESPNU. Kickoff is set for 7:30 p.m.

For more information on Hampton University football, please call the Office of Sports Information at (757) 727-5811, or visit the official Pirates website at www.hamptonpirates.com.

Friday, Aug. 5 Players report/Orientation/Seminars/Physicals
Monday, Aug. 8 Practice #1 – 3:30 p.m. (shorts & helmets)
Team Meeting/Pirate Experience – 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 9 Practice #2 (shorts & helmets) – 3:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Aug. 10 Practice #3 (shells) – 3:30 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 11 Practice #4 (shells) – 3:30 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 12 Practice #5 (first practice in full pads) – 3:30 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 13 Picture/Media Day – 2-3:30 p.m./Practice 6 (full pads) – 7:00 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 14 No Practice

Monday, Aug. 15 Two-a-day Practices Begin
Practice #7 (shells) – 5:45 a.m.
Practice# 8 (full pads) – 3:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 16 Practice #9 (full pads) – 3:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Aug. 17 Two-a-day Practices
Practice #10 (shells) – 5:45 a.m.
Practice #11 (full pads) – 3:15 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 18 Practice #12 (full pads) – 3:10 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 19 Two-a-day Practices
Practice #13 (shells) – 5:45 a.m.
Practice #14 (full pads) – 3:15 a.m.
Saturday, Aug. 20 First Scrimmage/Practice #15 (full pads) – 1:30 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 21 No Practice
Monday, Aug. 22 Practice #16 (full pads) – 3:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 23 Two-a-day Practices
Practice #17 (shells) – 5:45 a.m.
Practice #18 (full pads) – 3:15 p.m.
Wednesday, Aug. 24 Practice #19 (full pads) – 3:30 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 25 Two-a-day Practices
Practice #20 (shells) – 5:45 a.m.
Practice #21 (full pads) – 3:15 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 26 Practice #22 (shorts & helmets) – 3:30 p.m.

*Due to weather conditions practice times may change without notice…contact Sports Information if an update is needed. 
Print Friendly Version
Football
PIRATES SET TO BEGIN PREPARATION FOR 2011 FOOTBALL SEASON
HAMPTON, VA. – Pirates Head Coach Donovan Rose welcomed the new and returning players to campus over the weekend as they gear up for the 2011 football campaign. The Pirates will hold their first practice today at 3:30 p.m. contingent on the weather. Players went through orientation, team seminars and physicals over the weekend.